View Full Version : Want a good laugh????


smindsrt
10-22-2004, 07:44 PM
Someone just sent me some SPAM. Take a look, what great keywords! I'm so impressed. I sent them a nice email back.

Why would they refer to me as a customer?
Do they have any actual customers? Poor customers.

WOW!!!! I must go pull out my checkbook now.


Dear Customer,

Be the very first listing in the top search engines immediately.

Our company will now place any business with a qualified website permanently at the top of the major search engines guaranteed never to move. This promotion includes unlimited traffic and is not going to last long. If you are interested in being guaranteed first position in the top search engines at a promotional fee, please contact us promptly to find out if you qualify via email at maryann@ speedy.com.pe and INCLUDE THE URL(s) YOU ARE INTERESTED IN PLACING. This is not pay per click.

The following are examples on Yahoo!, MSN and Alta Vista:

Company: Oahu Dive Center
URL: oahudivecenter.com
keyword: oahu scuba diving

Company: California Moves.com
URL: steph.cbsocal.com
keyword: find a home southern california

Sincerely,

IGN
The Search Engine Promotional Consultants

FreeAgent
10-22-2004, 08:58 PM
That Oahu Dive Center website is damn sexy if you ask me. I wonder where I can find a nice template and frame work like that?

nrlatsha
10-22-2004, 10:16 PM
[QUOTE=FreeAgent]That Oahu Dive Center website is damn sexy if you ask me. I wonder where I can find a nice template and frame work like that?[/QUOTE]

The black text on yellow background is serious, I didn't think someone could come up with such a great color scheme. :confused:

seo guy
10-23-2004, 12:51 AM
Just incase anyone doesnt know, IGN is a browser helper object (Spyware) that you must download to view results. They rearrange serps before publication to your screen so that it does really appear that you are ranking #1, the bad thing about it is that only shows for those with the download, and that is very few

rizla
10-23-2004, 10:18 PM
or in other words - pretty crappy...

nrlatsha
10-23-2004, 10:24 PM
[QUOTE=seo guy]Just incase anyone doesnt know, IGN is a browser helper object (Spyware) that you must download to view results. They rearrange serps before publication to your screen so that it does really appear that you are ranking #1, the bad thing about it is that only shows for those with the download, and that is very few[/QUOTE]

Where can I get it? One way or the other, I'm gonna get that #1 position.... :p

smindsrt
10-23-2004, 11:30 PM
[QUOTE=seo guy]Just incase anyone doesnt know, IGN is a browser helper object (Spyware) that you must download to view results. They rearrange serps before publication to your screen so that it does really appear that you are ranking #1, the bad thing about it is that only shows for those with the download, and that is very few[/QUOTE]

I knew it SPAM=SCAM

ironfoundersson
10-24-2004, 10:38 AM
[QUOTE=nrlatsha]Where can I get it? One way or the other, I'm gonna get that #1 position.... :p[/QUOTE]

Me too. I just don't have strong will. I'm so weak... :(

wlh
10-24-2004, 10:51 AM
[QUOTE=smindsrt]INCLUDE THE URL(s) YOU ARE INTERESTED IN PLACING. This is not pay per click. [/QUOTE]


Pretty funny considering I only find their examples sites in the sponsored results sections. Thats a flat out lie, how stupid do they thing people are?

briggs.christie
11-11-2004, 09:24 AM
Not only are they using Oahu Dive Center in their spam, they SENT it to Oahu Dive Center...who is not a client of theirs. As you might imagine, e-mails are not answered and their "support" line is a different company, "iGenuity". They don't have a web site, put promise to "tell the CEO" about the fact that they're using another company's name without their permission.

Nice.

Any ideas as to how to chase these jerks down would be cheerfully accepted!

BC
Oahu Dive Center
Kailua, Hawaii