SEO | Link Popularity | Search Engine Consulting | SEO Tutorial | SEO Tools | SEO Forum
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-08-2005, 12:55 PM
KymK's Avatar
KymK KymK is offline
SEO
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 127 KymK is on a distinguished road
Exclamation Warning! Stay away from these types of sites!!!

I added their link, they "linked back". But after a little more investigation, I found that their link to me does me no good, but they benefit, because it looks like a one-way link.

Example sites:
http://www.cheaplifeinsurance.ca
http://www.canadian-life-insurance.ca

If you visit their link pages you'll notice:

They use a cgi counter script.
They use onmouseover to look like your link is there.
They disable right clicking, so you can't view source coding.
Everything looks legit and you don't suspect anything because the
page still has PR.


Just be careful when dealing with these sights and any others like them!
__________________
K2 Data and Design

Last edited by dilligaf : 08-08-2005 at 12:59 PM. Reason: No free links for them (smiley here)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-08-2005, 01:44 PM
Mano70's Avatar
Mano70 Mano70 is offline
SEO
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: C:\Norway
Posts: 122 Mano70 will become famous soon enough
Switch to Firefox or Opera browser and javascript mouseover are detected easy, and disabling right click don't work.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-08-2005, 08:45 PM
Paz's Avatar
Paz Paz is offline
SEO GUY Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Antalya, Turkey
Posts: 4,238 Paz has a spectacular aura aboutPaz has a spectacular aura about
Hi K,

Thanks for the heads up....

Did you get the links through this forum?

Cheers,
Paz.
__________________
10.3 million entries for Hotels in Turkey but I'm still chipping away.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-08-2005, 09:16 PM
KymK's Avatar
KymK KymK is offline
SEO
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 127 KymK is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paz
Hi K,

Thanks for the heads up....

Did you get the links through this forum?

Cheers,
Paz.



No. Thank goodness. I had linked to a bunch of their sites and was wondering why my link manager wasn't picking up his so-called "link-backs". Then I did some investigating and found out that information.
It looks legit, but it's far from it. I wish I could
__________________
K2 Data and Design
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-08-2005, 09:40 PM
indian-seo's Avatar
indian-seo indian-seo is offline
SEO
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 279 indian-seo is on a distinguished road
Send a message via ICQ to indian-seo
Thanks for the info kym... I think G! should be informed about them...
__________________
Unemployed Loans UK

text loans 247
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-08-2005, 10:35 PM
Paz's Avatar
Paz Paz is offline
SEO GUY Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Antalya, Turkey
Posts: 4,238 Paz has a spectacular aura aboutPaz has a spectacular aura about
I'd write to a few of their link partners.... or try something like

Reciprocal link fraud scam

but that's just my opinion, not necessarily shared by seo-guy.com....

Cheers,
Paz.
__________________
10.3 million entries for Hotels in Turkey but I'm still chipping away.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-09-2005, 08:15 PM
George George is offline
SEO Junior
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 24 George is on a distinguished road
HaHaHa, What do i hear.
By the way KymK, you wanted to exchange links with my site urlcan.com I have done my part, Uploaded somewere about 40 of your links on my site. Did you uploaded mine? Do not see them. Also since then i have sent you 3 PMs trying to straighten this out but you were ignoring them.

Sorry everybody else. Did not want to bring it up untill i saw "Stay away" written by KymK.

Well i can say, Stay away from KymK and his sites.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-09-2005, 08:28 PM
sarahk's Avatar
sarahk sarahk is offline
SEO
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 177 sarahk is on a distinguished road
Send a message via ICQ to sarahk
Quote:
Originally Posted by KymK
If you visit their link pages you'll notice:

They use a cgi counter script.
They use onmouseover to look like your link is there.
They disable right clicking, so you can't view source coding.
Everything looks legit and you don't suspect anything because the
page still has PR.
The moment I see a site blocks the right mouse click I know that either they are totally naive or playing games. I tolerate the first but not the second. Since I right mouse click on most sites I visit they don't last long Either way the big red flag is raised and I'm digging deeper.

Don't forget to check
  • robots.txt
  • <a rel='nofollow'> on the links they give
  • <meta robots> in the head section of the page.

Sarah

__________________
A Real Estate Directory using simple seo techniques!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-09-2005, 10:22 PM
KymK's Avatar
KymK KymK is offline
SEO
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 127 KymK is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by George
HaHaHa, What do i hear.
By the way KymK, you wanted to exchange links with my site urlcan.com I have done my part, Uploaded somewere about 40 of your links on my site. Did you uploaded mine? Do not see them. Also since then i have sent you 3 PMs trying to straighten this out but you were ignoring them.

Sorry everybody else. Did not want to bring it up untill i saw "Stay away" written by KymK.

Well i can say, Stay away from KymK and his sites.



1. I didn't get any of your PM's.
2. I don't have those sites anymore. They were a client's site and whatever happened to the links after I added them are out of my control.
3. Feel free to take the sites down, at this point, I don't care what you do with them, they're not mine anymore.
4. Don't talk bad about me on a forum, when you don't know what the situation is. If you have a problem, e-mail me, don't try to start crap on this list. It's rude and uncalled for.

5. And for the record, I am a "her" not a "his".
__________________
K2 Data and Design

Last edited by KymK : 08-10-2005 at 09:31 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-10-2005, 05:42 AM
netmar's Avatar
netmar netmar is offline
SEO
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 162 netmar is on a distinguished road
I haven't seen anything.
__________________
Netmar Solutions
Internet Marketing Services

Affordable SEO Services
Reply With Quote
Closed Thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Login/Register
User Name
Password
Remember Me?

Forum Links
Forum Home
SEO Forum
Internet Marketing Forum
Web Design Forum
Web Hosting Forum
Programming Forum
SEO Chat

Quick Links
Forum Home
New Posts
Mark Forums Read
Open Buddy List
User Control Panel
Edit Avatar
Edit Profile
Edit Options
Miscellaneous
Subscribed Threads
My Profile

Search Forums

Advanced Search
All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:08 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.