SEO | Link Popularity | Search Engine Consulting | SEO Tutorial | SEO Tools | SEO Forum
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-28-2004, 06:30 AM
ugamedia ugamedia is offline
SEO Junior
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 3 ugamedia is on a distinguished road
Angry Abuse of our sitename

We run a b2b portal at bizeurope.com and see main competition is getting
high results for the word bizeurope while there is zero content related to
this searchterm.

The sites showing up at yahoo and google for bizeurope are eceurope and
worldbid which are in fact both of the same owner.

Can this use of our name only be caused by searchengine cloaking or
can this be caused by other factors as well?

regards
Ron Fonteine
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-28-2004, 10:06 AM
complainer complainer is offline
SEO Junior and a half
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 94 complainer is on a distinguished road
When I search for "bizeurope" on Google (from the US) I get the worldbid site as #2. If I click on the "cache" link for that site, it says in the Google header (across the top) "These terms only appear in links pointing to this page: bizeurope"

That means that (1) they are not cloaking, because the cache page is what Googlebot saw and (2) someone is using the term "bizeurope" in their links to that site.

It reminds me a little about a news story I heard about a company suing Google because Google would sell adwords to people using trademarked names (for example, I might be able to buy an adword to apppear for people searching for "Ford" even though my site was selling GM's). I can't remember where I read it, and I don't know what the outcome was, but basically the idea was someone trying to divert traffic using a competitor's name.
__________________
Monkey Grandma Web Designs
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-28-2004, 10:17 AM
ugamedia ugamedia is offline
SEO Junior
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 3 ugamedia is on a distinguished road
Anyway to find that link

Ok, if someone linking to that site using the word bizeurope is it then possible
to find this link?

Someone managed to kicked me out of Dmoz and now I see direct competition
showing up under our site name so like to see who is behind all this powerplay.

regards
Ron Fonteine
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-28-2004, 10:31 AM
ResaleBroker's Avatar
ResaleBroker ResaleBroker is offline
SEO Almost
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 113 ResaleBroker is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by ugamedia
Ok, if someone linking to that site using the word bizeurope is it then possible
to find this link?
You might try the tools at RustyBrick.
__________________
Jeff Blackwell
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Login/Register
User Name
Password
Remember Me?

Forum Links
Forum Home
SEO Forum
Internet Marketing Forum
Web Design Forum
Web Hosting Forum
Programming Forum
SEO Chat

Quick Links
Forum Home
New Posts
Mark Forums Read
Open Buddy List
User Control Panel
Edit Avatar
Edit Profile
Edit Options
Miscellaneous
Subscribed Threads
My Profile

Search Forums

Advanced Search
All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:02 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.