SEO | Link Popularity | Search Engine Consulting | SEO Tutorial | SEO Tools | SEO Forum
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-12-2004, 12:02 PM
wyrickj's Avatar
wyrickj wyrickj is offline
Web Design Pro
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Grand Rapids, Michigan -- Soon to be San Diego Beach Front
Posts: 901 wyrickj is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to wyrickj Send a message via MSN to wyrickj
Lightbulb Link-builder.com Spam

Has anyone ever got this email from link-builder.com that I got today:

I am contacting you about cross linking. I am interested in your site because it looks like it's relevant to a site for which I am seeking links.

Quote:
This site is about a total email security management solution for enterprises of all levels. Using the latest mail filtering and anti-virus technologies, business are provided with complete control over the classification of email and its distribution

I'll keep the web address confidential and will send it to you only if you give me permission to do so. Just let me know if it's OK, and I'll send you the web address for your review. If you approve of the site, then the intention is to exchange links.

Looking forward to your reply.

Sincerely,
Bert - Sr. Link Builder
bert_spf@link-builder.com
...ww.link-builder.com
Experts in Quality Link Building

P.S. If for any reason you don't want me to contact you again, email me with the words "NO EMAIL" as the subject of your message.


Link Builder
Apartado Postal #18
Tijuana, B.C. 22432



First sign of spam is: I'll keep the web address confidential and will send it to you only if you give me permission to do so. I wonder about this sometimes. Why don't they want to give you the link? Something Google may see and find bad?

First sign of violating Googles rules: Crosslinking terms in the email. Hmmmmm seems there one of those Bad SEO Practice businesses. Maybe SEO Guy know's about this since they are also in B.C.

I see them no where in Google. I see no information when I do a Google search on ...ww.link-builder.com. Comes with Sorry, no information is available for the URL ...ww.link-builder.com. Maybe they just don't want to be in google but my feeling is they have been penalized by Google.

So anyone have any input?
__________________
Hydroderm

Alcohol Myspace Layouts

Last edited by jocelyn : 06-12-2004 at 12:16 PM. Reason: broke links
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-12-2004, 12:33 PM
creative666 creative666 is offline
SEO
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London
Posts: 170 creative666 is an unknown quantity at this point
If you reply they send the address and you decide if you want to exchange links. Its an actual company with people working there, I have replied before and have a few links from them in this manner.

Strange that their site is down and working, must be a problem, that I am not sure of.
__________________
A look into my life with Craigs photos

Creative Confusion:
UK search engine optimisation news, articles, interview and seo tips
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-12-2004, 08:17 PM
wyrickj's Avatar
wyrickj wyrickj is offline
Web Design Pro
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Grand Rapids, Michigan -- Soon to be San Diego Beach Front
Posts: 901 wyrickj is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to wyrickj Send a message via MSN to wyrickj
Sorry Joc. I did not know how to remove links in this forum. I thought just get rid of URL Tags but they came back.
__________________
Hydroderm

Alcohol Myspace Layouts
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-12-2004, 08:23 PM
jocelyn's Avatar
jocelyn jocelyn is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Montréal / Canada
Posts: 5,155 jocelyn has a spectacular aura aboutjocelyn has a spectacular aura aboutjocelyn has a spectacular aura about
Quote:
Originally Posted by wyrickj
Sorry Joc. I did not know how to remove links in this forum. I thought just get rid of URL Tags but they came back.

I know, I tried that too... lol ... and don't be sorry, no harm was done.
Found the ...ww.name.com to be obvious enough for the reader while not triggering the auto link feature making a link for the site.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-13-2004, 04:45 AM
Nick0r's Avatar
Nick0r Nick0r is offline
SEO
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 279 Nick0r is on a distinguished road
Yep I've exchanged links with them before too, it went smoothly.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Login/Register
User Name
Password
Remember Me?

Forum Links
Forum Home
SEO Forum
Internet Marketing Forum
Web Design Forum
Web Hosting Forum
Programming Forum
SEO Chat

Quick Links
Forum Home
New Posts
Mark Forums Read
Open Buddy List
User Control Panel
Edit Avatar
Edit Profile
Edit Options
Miscellaneous
Subscribed Threads
My Profile

Search Forums

Advanced Search
All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:57 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.